Prompt 5- Color Grading!

orignal

This picture was taken from my terrace, when I was trying to shoot a timelapse, around 5.30pm and evidently it was cloudy. I tried to play with different types of effects and surprisingly how it turned out to be was ecstatic.

Screen Shot 2016-06-09 at 12.40.41 pm

In this picture I used the effect ‘Color Balance HLS,’ increased the hue too 193, reducing the lightness and saturation to -2 and -5 respectively. The result was, that it started looking like it was taken in the morning hours before the sunrise.

Screen Shot 2016-06-09 at 12.44.53 pm

For this picture I used 3 way color corrector and changed  few shadows and midtones and what I came up was, that looked like a picture taken in a harsh sunlight.

Screen Shot 2016-06-09 at 12.48.17 pm

Here I used the RGB color corrector and increased the red tone. It looks like a very dramatic picture which focuses more on the sky, plus I also get a very gloomy feeling watching it.

Screen Shot 2016-06-09 at 1.19.38 pm

This picture was taken while shooting the abstract videos for the documentary in the RMIT campus.

Screen Shot 2016-06-09 at 12.52.44 pm

This was the time when I thought of playing with curves. I choose the effect RGB curves and to be very honest I did not know what to do with those. I started scratching different angles and surprisingly everything in the background of this picture turned green except the flags. I personally think it looks phenomenal of how the flags are focused and can show the national integrity.

Screen Shot 2016-06-09 at 1.18.44 pm

For this one I chose another effect called ‘Leave color’. I knew what that meant but never realised how well would that work. I chose the buildings color to be the same and all the others to leave their color and turn into a chroma effect.

Screen Shot 2016-06-09 at 1.13.27 pm

It looks like a sketch, doesn’t it? Well it is not. All I have used is color balance, played with saturation and hue and this is what it looks like. Well I cannot deny the fact that the flags did not change their color and honestly speaking, I do not know why? It still looks great!!!

Screen Shot 2016-06-09 at 1.37.27 pm

This picture was shot during the intensives and I have also used this one in my new documentary. I think it shows unity in diversity and friendship. It was another cloudy day when we shot it and still managed to get a decent video.

Screen Shot 2016-06-09 at 1.30.46 pm

I think this is the best color grader I have used so far. It is the luma curve and it has changed everything so beautifully as if I have added a fx to it. At one point of time it looks cartoonized and on the other it seems as if some mighty creatures have appeared from nowhere.

Screen Shot 2016-06-09 at 1.35.44 pm

This picture symbolizes danger in such a way that, currently these five innocent people are unaware of the dark situation which will be approaching them in the mere future.

Screen Shot 2016-06-09 at 1.24.23 pm

I have used 3 way color corrector and instead of experimenting bizarre effects I have actually tried to color correct in such a way they can be used for the further production.

Leave a comment